Reviews

Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel
Create your own review
Average rating:  
 0 reviews

” Peninsula Hearing Services is very professional.  Dr. Folmar made me feel at ease doing something I dreaded.  The evaluation was very thorough and the selection of available hearing aids was well explained.  The best choice for me was rechargeable.  It feels wonderful to hear!  I should have done this years ago.”   Thomas D. (October 17,2021) Pacifica

“I’ve been struggling with my hearing for a quite a long time.  My doctor recommended Peninsula Hearing Services.  They explained to me my hearing loss and what devices are available, my coverage through my insurance and the expected timeframe to order the hearing aids and adjust to them. I can now hear conversations much better and many other sounds I previously could not.  What a relief!  I am a happy patient.  Thank you very much!” – Rosario V. (September 3, 2021) Daly City

“I loved Peninsula Hearing Services.  He is very informative and patient. You couldn’t ask for a better service on the Peninsula!”-Grace A. (August 3,2021) San Mateo

“I have been with Peninsula Hearing Services for several years. The care and attention for my hearing aids has always been excellent.  The hearing aid technology is quite advanced but without Dr. Folmar’s recommendations explanations about how to use the devices I don’t know that I would be as satisfied with the aids.  Very good experience” – Peter T. (June12, 2021) Redwood City

“I highly recommend! am very happy with the professional manner in which I was treated and with the personal interest Dr. Folmar took to explain the nature of hearing loss and how the hearing aids would work. Thank you Peninsula Hearing Services.” – Bob M. (May 18, 2021) Belmont

“I have been a patient of Dr. Folmar’s for a little over a year when I purchased hearing aids from his office. Recently I had noticed that my ears was unusually sensitive to sound and I felt jumpy because of it. Nervous that my hearing may be getting worse, he really listened to my concern which gave me a sense of validation that I wasn’t being fussy.

After confirming the hearing devices were performing well and up to spec’s, he showed me the inside of my ears with a special video camera that was displayed on a large computer monitor on the wall and I could see that ear wax was not the problem. After several more tests, including one that measures my eardrum for infections and fluid, he confirmed that my hearing was stable and leaned towards the sensitivity being due to the stress of the COVID outbreak. Dr. Folmar stated he has been seeing an unusually large spike of individuals in his office the last 9 months for ringing in their ears and sensitivity to sound. Over the next few weeks I have been feeling better and less sensitive to sound. What a relief.” – Tim B. (Feb. 19, 2021) San Mateo

“Very friendly and courteous. I had an issue with my Doctor bill with my insurance and he took care of it right away. Highly recommend A++” – Ariel (March 10, 2020) Millbrae

“Love Dr Folmar, he has been so helpful, patient , fair and honest in his billing. I would feel very good about recommending him to friends.” – Gail N. (Feb. 13, 2020) San Mateo

“They have efficient, effective service. Fairly priced and willing to explain issues requested to fully understand all aspects of my hearing needs.” – Denise B. (Oct. 19, 2019) Pacifica

“Dr. Folmar was very nice to help fix my father’s hearing aid. Thank you! Very nice to help me when I needed a hand.” – E.A. (Sep. 10, 2019)

“Dr John has done an excellent job in persuading my father in-law to use his hearing aids. When my father in-law first got his hearing aids, he did not like to use it all the time. It was not until Dr John explained to him that using hearing aids is like learning a foreign language (i.e. you have to practice everyday or else you will lose it), then we saw the dramatic difference in my father in-law who now uses his hearing aids religiously.

Dr John is like a savior as my father in-law now can participate in group discussion without interrupting everyone. I would highly recommend Dr John to anybody! I can’t thank him enough!” – Craig C. (March 18, 2019)

“Dr. Folmar is great. He gives a complete hearing test and has quality products. Best of all the follow up servive is outstanding. He’s the best for your hearing needs” – Dennis M. (Feb. 21, 2019)

“Dr. Folmar is very efficient and punctual. My mom had been using the same hearing aid for over 20 years and we were recommended to another audiologist who took forever to schedule an appointment. Luckily, we found Dr. Folmar, who was located nearby and the appointment was very timely. My mom got a hearing aid within a few weeks, and it improved her hearing by so much. Dr. Folmar is patient, and he answered all of our questions. Even when her hearing aid wasn’t performing as well, he informed us of alternatives to my mom’s chronic hearing loss and other facilities that could help her. I would definitely recommend him!” – Kim V. (Jan. 18, 2019)

“I absolutely have to agree with everyone here. Dr John is fantastic.
I was really nervous when I got here. I start having buzzing sound in my ears and I was told that it could be the beginning of having an actual hearing loss.
None of the tests is painful. And all of them take about 30 min all together.
At the end of the session, Dr explained the results, told me what next and what my options are.

I have to say about my experience with the insurance here. I only pay my copay when I arrived. Dr said that everything else is covered. Then after 3 weeks, I got a bill of $152. I emailed the lady, that email was on the top of the receipt and she replied in within minutes. We went back and forward with emails for a couple of months, and at the end, I couldn’t be bothered to contact her or my insurance again, so I paid the bill. No need to say I was not happy at all since that kind of experience never happened to me before.

But after a week I got a letter with the check of $152 back and an apology from the doctor.” – Bianca G. (March 7, 2018)

“Dr. Folmar is very professional and knowledgeable. I trusted the decisions he made on the adjustments and changes on my hearing devices to help enhance my hearing.” – Robert Carmelita L. (Sep. 25, 2017)

“We had hearing aids made by Dr.Fulmar that made life so much better! We are so happy with his helpful manner and always giving us great service when we see him.

We are happy customers !! Thank you” – Candance R. (Oct. 6, 2017)

“I’ve been a patient if Dr. Folmar for over a year. He is very knowledgeable, patient and thorough. He squeezed me in for an appointment after an acoustic trauma on short notice to do a hearing test and access potential damage. He’s patient and takes time to answer all of patient’s questions. He’s very good at what he does and can refer you to other professions if you need. Highly recommend.” – Jules C. (Oct. 13, 2017)

“Dr. Folmar has been fantastic. He was very thoughtful in making a recommendation regarding which hearing aids were best for my specific situation. He took time to make sure that I understood the pros and cons of different devices and options that he offered, and made no effort to “over sell” me on features that I did not really need given the hearing loss that I have. He has been superb in the post sale support, as well. I had some unique fitting requirements that he addressed with a very cost effective approach. He has a friendly and reassuring manner that I really appreciate. I strongly recommend him.” – Ed F. (June 29, 2017)

“John Folmar is a consummate professional whose manner inspires confidence in good outcomes. He deserves high marks for domain knowledge arising from a background in research, his clarity in communication, a true service ethic, and energy. No drama, no BS, right to the point. If I had known enhancing my hearing was so easy and so rewarding I would have done it long ago.” –Thomas K. (May 25, 2017)

“Saw Dr. John Folmar today. A kind and very thorough audiologist. I wasn’t fitted for a hearing aid but went in for a hearing test. Explained each and every step of the hearing test in great detail. Went over my results with me and made his professional recommendations.Thank you Dr. Folmar for your kindness, gentleness and professionalism.” – Rosie G. (May 24, 2017)

“Dr. Folmer is consummate professional. He fully explained all my options and did not try to “upsell” in any way. I deeply appreciated his thorough and patient teaching and explanations. I can’t imagine a more pleasing interaction.” – Allen H. (July 15, 2016)

“Dr. Folmar makes the process of hearing tests, informative, easy to understand and most of all painless. Both physically and mentally. Dr Folmar is personable and professional. I would encourage anyone in need of an audiologist for a hearing test or a hearing aid to make an appointment as soon as possible. You’ll enjoy thee experience.” – Harry M. (Feb 15, 2016)

“I wish I could give Dr. John Folmar ten stars! He is an absolutely wonderful audiologist in every possible way. At the end of the six week trial period, I wrote to Dr. Folmar: “My new hearing aids are really wonderful and I would never give them back even if you paid me double.”

These are my first hearing aids ever and it is like being reborn at the age of 68. Now when I hear music it is 10 times more wonderful than ever before. I also am more aware of the sounds around me and I believe that I hear better even when I am not using my new Resound Linx hearing aid. They also work well on flights but I remove them when I use my noise canceling earbuds. Battery life is about 5 days and I do use them with my iPhone. I am now trying to find discrete ways to tell friends about modern hearing aids so that they too can benefit from the wonder of bionic hearing.

In getting hearing aids, there is a lot for the wearer to learn and a skilled, patient audiologist is much more important than the particular make. John Folmar is the best of the best.” – Michael L. (Nov. 16, 2015)

“Dr. John Folmar is the most kind doctor I have never met. His professional service for my hearing aid needs was outstanding. I will recommend all people I know when they need hearing aid service. Thank you Dr. Folmar.” – Jen H. (Nov. 13, 2014)

“John is a wonderful audiologist. He is thorough, communicative, responsive and a consummate professional. I purchased my hearing aids through a third party provider and he was the local audiologist assigned to me to fit the aids and ensure my satisfaction. He went more than the extra mile and I would not hesitate to recommend him.” –  Mark D. (July 3, 2014)

“Dr John Fulmar is exceptional! I was recommended by an online Discount Hearing Aids of America as his prices are exceptional for high end hearing aids– I wanted Opticon. John was fabulous and he met the published prices without downgrading services. He is kind, patient and provides excellent hearing evaluations and services. I recommend him as the best I have met in the Hearing Aid industry—–Dr. John Folmar is a professional audiologist and his services are thorough, pleasant and caring. Guess I can’t say enough about him.” – Pamela S. (June 28, 2014)

“John, helped both my mother and father in law recently. He’s responsive, professional, courteous, patient and did a great job. Thanks John!” – Robert W. (Noc. 24, 2013)

“Highly recommended!!! Dr. Folmar is patient and very helpful. The location is easy to access from the freeway and there is ample parking. I received a flyer in the mail which is what brought me in and I will be returning. Dr. Folmar doesn’t put any pressure on his clients and even let me try a hearing aid for a week to be sure that I was happy.” – Jess S. (Oct. 30, 2013)

“I usually don’t do reviews on yelp, as the customer service level out there is something to be desired but I felt I just had to comment on my experience with Dr Folmar. When I left Dr. Folmar’s office I was very pleased with his knowledge and experience within the hearing aid industry. I’ve seen other audiologists that just want to spend minimal time with you and then sell you the most expensive hearing aid. Not Dr. Folmar, after he took some tests; he also took the time to help me understand the damage that was done to my ear; explained how a hearing aid works and what the hearing aid would actually do vs what they say it will do in a particular situation. I just got the hearing aid last week and WOW what a difference – Thank you Dr. Folmar!” – Al H. (Oct. 28, 2013)

“Dr. Folmar is amazing.  He was patient, understanding and polite with my father-in-law.  I wouldn’t hesitate to make an appointment with Peninsula Hearing Services.  He was also in-network with Blue Shield insurance, who referred us to his office.  Even if my father-in-law doesn’t take to the hearing aids, he really guided us to understand hearing loss and what hearing aids can and cannot do.”  Virginia R. (Nov 1, 2021) Millbrae

“Thank you Peninsula Hearing Services for helping me to hear better!”- Josephine B . (August 11 , 2021) Belmont

“I’ve struggled with hearing since childhood but never wore hearing aids.  Along came COVID and masks and plexiglass barriers at the stores, banks, etc, made lip reading now out of the question.  Thank goodness I found Peninsula Hearing Services.  Very friendly and knowledgeable office staff and audiologist.   They diagnosed my hearing difficulties after testing. Go to them first if you have a hearing issue.  I love being able to hear now. Thank you so much !!!”- Mary Ellen N. (July 16 , 2021) San Mateo

“Peninsula Hearing Services is a very well run office and I like the professional manner in which I was treated.  I have had several sets of hearing aids over the years but they have not been as good as the pair Dr. Folmar recently fit with me with.  Thank you so much!” – Christine C. (April 13, 2021) Daly City

“My experiences with Peninsula Hearing Services has been excellent. I received a thorough hearing evaluation and examination, and all of my questions were patiently and fully answered. There are so many different hearing aids and prices marketed I didn’t know where to start. Dr. Folmar recommended ReSound hearing aids and they have truly been a game-changer. I feel a part of conversations again and enjoy the simple pleasure of not having to guess what people are saying or watching television.” – Bridgett R. (March 19, 2021) South San Francisco

“Dr Folmar is really friendly, welcoming and explains thing clearly. I came in because my left ear was plugged for several weeks after jumping into a swimming pool while on vacation. Concerned I had lost some hearing, he spent considerable time performing multiple tests to thoroughly evaluate my hearing. When he finished he explained in an easy to understand way the results of each test and informed me that I had not suffered any hearing loss! He recommended an ENT if the plugged feeling continued but it started to go away several days later. Highly recommend!” – Jim I. (Jan. 12, 2021) Burlingame

“Dr Folmar is highly recommended!” – Alex B. (Jan. 10, 2021) Burlingame

“I was referred to Peninsula Hearing Services by an Ear, Nose, Throat doctor last year when an ear infection led to near complete hearing loss (temporary fortunately) in one of my ears. Dr. Folmar was personable, knowledgeable and completely professional as he walked me through a series of tests. All the while, he explained what he was testing for and then thoroughly explained my results. When I recently began to experience an increased level of tinnitus this year I immediately made an appointment directly with Dr. John to get another series of evaluations and learn more about the ringing in my ears. I highly recommend Peninsula Hearing Services, and Dr. John Folmar in particular, if you are experiencing any concerns about your hearing.” – Greg G. (May 26, 2020) Foster City

“I’ve been a patient at Peninsula Hearing Services for a number of years now now and I can honestly say that the care Dr. Folmar has provided not only me but another family member has been superb. He was meticulous in selecting the proper devices for us and made sure we were comfortable in their usage.

There were a few times when there were some technical issues with the devices but he either repaired them himself or made sure that the manufacturer replaced or repaired under warranty. There were never any disappointments.

I cannot speak highly enough of Dr Folmar. He is a great guy and just another thing: his prices aren’t any higher than Costco. I know because I went there there first.” – Mark W. (Oct. 10, 2019) Foster City

“My elderly mother was treated with such patience and Dr. Folmar was absolutely wonderful in every way. He was able to fit her for the Hearing aides she needed as well as being able to explain and educate both of us on the nature of hearing loss. She is now able to enjoy listening to music and the television without having to depend on Closed Captioning. Most of all, she no longer feels left out of family conversations. She is more than satisfied and happy that we were able to get the professional services that Peninsula Hearing Services provided. I wholeheartedly recommend Dr. Folmar to anyone who may be experiencing hearing loss. Easy to get to off Highway 101 at Broadway exit and plenty of parking.” – Rick M. (Aug. 12, 2019)

“I chose Peninsula Hearing due to the convenient location. It is easy to get to and has plenty of parking. I was pleasantly surprised with Dr. Folmar’s services. He is very knowledgeable and efficient. His rates are reasonable. He responds to emails promptly. I recommend Peninsula Hearing to anyone looking for a good audiologist in our area.” – Karen F. (March 2, 2019)

“Dr. Folmar has been great. He is very careful to listen and understand any concerns and issues I had with my hearing loss and use of hearing aids. He is quite responsive to any problems that have come up. He also was very thoughtful in working with me to optimize the cost of the hearing aids in only suggesting devices that had functions that I needed and not to “over sell” me.” – Fine Fam (Feb. 10, 2019)

“I have known Dr. Folmar for years and have referred several people to him who have been pleased with his service and the hearing devices he recommended. I respect Dr. Folmar’s to-the-point way of serving his clients with care, truth and commitment to the best results he can possibly provide. I can recommend him without hesitation.” – Michael N. (March 23, 2018)

“My father is a patient of Dr. Folmar. He did a hearing test on him last year, and results indicated that he needed a hearing aid. Dr. Folmar patiently explained everything to me which I had to translated it for my father. He ordered the hearing devices and tune them for optimum performance. He sent us a follow up letter this summer to see how the devices are working and did a tune up on them. He also did a repeat hearing test as well. Very nice gentleman and knowledgeable.” – Hoss B. (Oct. 14, 2017)

“We were in Millbrae, leaving from SFO the next day for a vacation out of the country, when the wire on my husband’s hearing aid broke.

My husband looked on Yelp and found Peninsula Hearing Services, so we showed up at their door when they opened the following morning, with no appointment, but a desperate look in our eyes. They were able to fit him in, find the necessary parts, and within 15 minutes, make the needed repairs and we were on our way, relieved and happy.

Normally, their services are by appointment only, but we had very limited time, and were so grateful that Dr. Folmar and his staff were able to help us out. Everyone was extremely kind and helpful. Thank you so much!” – Marianne G. (Oct. 8, 2017)

“Great experience. Dr. Folmar took time to understand the situation and review options. Recommended.” – Alex G. (Sep. 28, 2017)

“Great Experience. Dr. Folmar is kind, clear and concise. I received a thorough examination and excellent advice on my hearing situation. If you need hearing aids he has them … and he has a great attitude about which ones are a good value and which ones cost more but don’t give more satisfaction. Best of all, if you don’t really need hearing aids yet he is going to give you that advice and a good idea of how to wait and judge for yourself when you might truly want and or need them. Also I got good advice about assisted listening devices for watching TV, so I can finally hear shows and movies more clearly. Best of all he accepts my insurance and so the visit only cost me a small co-pay.” – Dave R. (Aug. 30, 2017)

“Saw Dr. Folmar, Au.D., today (6-22-17). Was escorted to my appointment on time, I filled out the paperwork since I was a new patient, and the examination went well. Before each test he explained what was being tested, what my responses​ should be, what I should feel or hear.

He was very professional, knowledgeable​, and easy going as he explained the testing procedures.

I highly recommend him if you find yourself waiting months to see an audiologist -which I was. (My EENT doctors office got an appointment just 2 days after my initial visit. . . I now have to cancel both my UCSF audiology and EENT appts the soonest being in August.” – Terry V. (June 22, 2017)

“I was so pleased with Dr. Folmar that I just had to post what a great experience I had. I took my 15 year old son in for complete hearing test. Dr. Folmar was gentle, kind and so approachable. He made my son very comfortable explaining every step of the tests. He explained the findings in a way we could understand and even shared pictures of his ear drum to further help us understand the tests. The knowledge he provided will definitely help us during our next ENT doctor visit. Thank you Dr. Folmar!” – Josie N. (Nov. 17, 2016)

“Dr. Folmar was wonderful with my mother. He was so patient and gentle with her and made many adjustments to help her acclimate to the hearing aides. He explained everything and was so thorough. If you have a parent who is needs a hearing aid and is afraid of getting one, this is the doctor for you. Regardless, you can’t go wrong going with Peninsula Hearing Services, they are wonderful.” – Kimberly R. (May 6, 2016)

“Dr. Folmar is excellent! He has been extremely helpful and patient in finding a solution for my father’s hearing loss. My father can now join our conversations and feels more independent. We never felt rushed and he took the time needed to get the devices just right. He even followed up to see how the devices were working! He indeed has the personal touch you don’t often find anymore.” – Michael B. (Jan. 14, 2016)

“I couldn’t agree with the other reviewers more. Dr Folmar is thorough, knowledgeable, friendly and absolutely focused on the best solution for his patients. Your are never rushed. He spends the time needed and goes the extra mile to make sure his patients have all that’s needed to meet their hearing needs. I know I sound like a marketing person. I’m not. I’m just really happy with my experience at Peninsula Hearing Services.” – Ronald S. (Sep. 29, 2015)

“Highly recommended!!! Dr. Folmar is patient and very helpful. The location is easy to access from the freeway and there is ample parking. I received a flyer in the mail which is what brought me in and I will be returning. Dr. Folmar doesn’t put any pressure on his clients and even let me try a hearing aid for a week to be sure that I was happy.” – Jessica S. (Aug. 11, 2015)

“I rarely have taken the time to write a Yelp review, however, I am delighted to provide my insights. Peninsula Hearing Services provided me a truly positive experience in not only assessing my hearing loss but also providing unbiased help in the selection process of my hearing aid. Dr. Folmar has an impressive training background as an audiologist, which provided me great confidence. Additionally, he was patient, skilled and offered very competitive pricing on my hearing aid. What more could I ask from any audiologist. Realizing that I needed a hearing aid was tough, but due to Dr. Folmar’s guidance the process was much easier then I ever imagined. I highly recommend Peninsula Hearing Services.” – Howard K. (Nov. 9, 2014)

“Dr. Folmar was at the Senior Center of San Mateo Health Fair. His services include hearing evaluations , repairs and a variety of hearing devices. He is professional and courteous and does not pressure anyone into purchases.

Rec’d a mailer and decided to take my Mom in to see if she needed a hearing aid ( or find out if her hearing was selective!) It is a smallish space but the guy that spoke to my Mom and I was really helpful. Tested her hearing for way cheaper than other people have quoted and let her try a couple different types of hearing aids in the office and outside to see if it made a difference. She said it did not seem to hlep and they annoyed her so we left. I was irritated with her but the Dr. told me that it is totally up to the individual how much they really want it depends on if they will actually use them ( hearing aids) and since she did not seem to want them they would probably end up in a drawer. A couple weeks ago she changed her mind and wanted to go back ( probably because we had gone to a play in the city and she was struggling to hear, kept asking me what they said, which drove me nuts!) She ended up buying one hearing aid because she did not feel she needed two even though her hearing test proved otherwise. The Dr. let her know the pros and cons but told her again, this was her decision. She had me shop around to see if the price was fair and it was actually on the lower end of the scale and from a reputable manufacturer So far she is really happy and I was really happy that we found this place because if we had come up on a hard sell she would never have decided to go back. Sometimes my Mom can be a little difficult and the Dr. was really sympathetic to her needs ( which was good since I have to admit I was getting impatient with her) the visit has actually helped our relationship. Bottom line – great service and it is safe to say that this guy will be getting a Christmas card from both of this year!” –  Cathleen L. (Feb. 12, 2014)

“Dr. Folmar was great with my Mom he advised her of the choices available and what to expect within those choices. We have had bad experiences in the past so this was refreshing. I Highly recommend this business for honest , compassionate and professional service.

Had seen an advertisement in the paper for this business and called to make an appointment for some old hearing aids that I was given and wanted to get programmed for myself. He advised me it could be done but that I may not be happy with the outcome as the technology has improved. I figured that is what they all say to sell something. He made an appt. for me to bring the old hearing aids in . At the appt. he took a look at them and told me he was unable to help me with this particular manufacturer. He then went so far as to check around ( which took about 15 minutes) gave me the name and address of a place I could go to have them repaired. I could not believe he actually took the time to send me somewhere else. The audiologist /owner- John was so honest and really helpful , I would recommend him to anyone and I told him so! I have since went back and purchased a new set of hearing aids as the old ones had too much whistling and noise in the background. He was really helpful and did not try and talk me into the most expensive model . I was able to try the pair I wanted for several days and then if I did not want to keep them I could return them with no charge. I ended up buying them and a gismo that helps me hear the TV. I can’t believe what a difference it has made. I was very nervous making the purchase as these things are very expensive – the prices here were very competitive and I really checked around. This was a very good experience. Sent two friends over and they were also very happy with this service.” – A. A. (Feb. 19, 2013)